Spotted in Hong Kong – Tesla Roadster

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Opinion, Spotted
Tags: , ,

Spotted in Stanley - Tesla Roadster

I found it quite serendipitous when, after having read just this morning how Tesla were taking Top Gear to court on defamation charges regarding a review done on their roadster, I bump into one in person.  This was the first time that I had seen one, and to be honest I was a little stumped at first, until I got close enough to see the badge properly.

The Tesla Roadster is a battery electric vehicle sports car, produced by the electric car firm Tesla Motors in California.  Now, you may look at this car and think “Why, it’s a mid-engined, rear-wheel drive sports car.  How marvelous.”  Marvelous indeed, except in that it has a crucial element missing – that lovely internal combustive growl, but that’s just my opinion.  If you want to save the planet and look pretty while doing it, this car is a good thing.  As you peruse its Wikipedia page you can see a whole mound of interesting facts and figures that proclaim what a wonderful vehicle it is, and how far it can go.  Personally, I’d love the chance to get behind the wheel and see for myself how it performs.

I’m probably being archaic in my ways, so lets flip the chart for a bit.  It’s an electric vehicle, pioneering the lithium-ion battery cell’s abilities to power a sports car.  Which is damn good thing to be pioneering.  I’d rather be in a Tesla than a Prius any day, and what with new regulations constantly being passed, we have to be honest and look toward a future of alternatively fueled cars.  All in all, it’s a good thing to have people working away on something as important to our futures as the humble sports car.  I look forward to what the future, and Tesla, has in store for us.

Comments
  1. Sei says:

    Hi Madmotoring, My name is Sei. I work for Tesla Motors. Thank you very much for writing about Tesla on your website. Have you test-driven a Tesla Roadster yet? If you haven’t, would you like to try and then write a report about your experience? 😀 Looking forward to hearing from you!

    Sei

    • madmotoring says:

      Hi Sei,

      I haven’t test-driven a Tesla Roadster yet, and the opportunity to do so and write up a report sounds great! I’ve sent you an email, and we’ll take it from there. 🙂

  2. Rue says:

    Hi Madmotoring! Just stumbled across your cool site and look forward to having a rummage around. Do you live here in HK? You might be interested in my pics too. We seem to share a similar interest…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/48817379@N03/?donelayout=1

    • madmotoring says:

      Hi there, sorry for the really late reply! I used to live in Hong Kong, but now I’ve relocated to England. And yes, it would seem that we do share a similar interest! Some great shots there!

Leave a Reply

